Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Not again!! Help needed please!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    AstraTurbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Not again!! Help needed please!

    Hi all, I had an oil leak about a week ago and thought it was turbo.
    after fitting a breather box mod to the engine, the oil problem seemed to go, until i popped the bonnet....

    http://members.lycos.co.uk/jlittlefa...oil%20leak.JPG

    anyone have an idea what could be making so much oil come through the breather pipes?
    John L

    MK4 GSI

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It still looks like your camcover is getting too pressurised which is blowing oil into the breather system, in turn which vents into the air intake pipes.

    Check the little 1 way valve, you'll find it to the left of the plenumn on the throttle housing at the back of the engine. It's 1/2 white and black, 2 cm in diameter, with an arrow pointing away from the engine and it's connected inline on a black breather hose anout 1 cm in diameter.

    Take the breather pipe off the cam cover and see if you can suck and blow down the pipe, you should only be able to blow. If you can suck then change ther valve as it's broken and allowing the system to over pressurise.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    AstraTurbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers mate, will check that, i hope its not piston rings, engine only done 9000miles!
    John L

    MK4 GSI

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    markja's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by K3FUS
    Check the little 1 way valve, you'll find it to the left of the plenumn on the throttle housing at the back of the engine. It's 1/2 white and black, 2 cm in diameter, with an arrow pointing away from the engine and it's connected inline on a black breather hose anout 1 cm in diameter.

    .
    it may well be brown and white aswell, mine was before i had to replace it
    YOUR FRIENDLY WINDSCREEN MAN

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    AstraTurbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    help! this is still happening, have added breather box and changer cramkshaft breather valve.

    is there any way this could be caused by the turbo?
    John L

    MK4 GSI

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    AstraTurbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    anyone ever had this problem?????????
    John L

    MK4 GSI

Similar Threads

  1. help needed with bodykit (photoshop needed)
    By pog in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-02-2009, 19:05
  2. Tools needed to lower front of my cab - help needed
    By paulocardyo in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-06-2008, 20:49
  3. New Laptop needed, spec advise needed please
    By Sausages in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 22-01-2008, 10:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •