Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: chip help PLEASE as despirate!! :(

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy chip help PLEASE as despirate!! :(

    im getting a matzel power box in the next few days just waiting for delivery!!


    but ive been advised to get a uni chip:!:



    courtney only do a remapp they say and i dont know what to do


    where can i get a UNI CHIP from and fitted??? what will it do??? and is it worth it

    would this be worth it ?? ----->http://www.dastek.co.uk/unichip.htm

    i REALLY need help on this folks please ops:
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    A unichip is good as it can be programmed to take into account your other modifications, Im not sure if Courtenay could do a custom remap to do the same, I'm guessing they probably could as they have the rolling road now it could be setup

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I would speak to courtenay again and ask if they could do a remap which would take into account the modifications you have and if this could be setup on the rolling road.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ill have to ring them again but when i spoke to them yesterday they sid they dont do chips just remaps
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    only problem is tho im fitting it myself and i live on the other side of the country to Courtney
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    put your driving gloves on then!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    OK here goes on the UNI CHIP

    courtney sport -
    will make a special chip for me - whack cr on the rollers and check where its lean or over fueling etc - make the chip and set it up!! £380 3/4 hours work


    I contacted Dastek Uni chip dealer who gave me local people as follows----------->

    Rickwood Tuning (manchester) 0161 483 4810 -

    car on rollers standard BHP - place UNIchip on car - place on rollers and make fully custom set up to make sure runs spot on, and fuel economy etc is correct - works out to be £450 + VAT ( £528.75 ) 4/5 hours work

    John Moore Motorsport (chesterfield) 01246 272 749 -

    Same as above works out to be £493.50 inc VAT need car all day


    So looks like Rickwood Tuning as closer and works out cheapest on traveling costs all in :P
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Chris 16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    961
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    SO if u just put a mantzel power box on ( im guessing an x16xel?) u have to have are-map, not just bolt it on as such?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    martin-GSI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I went to Courtenays last Friday, cost about £40 in fuel, £90 hotel for 2 nights and £1400 for the work on car. But journey home made me smile and not stopped since. 241 BHP and 254.8 lb ft of torque. Took about 4 hrs from Manchester.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Kev_mk3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5,581
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris 16v
    SO if u just put a mantzel power box on ( im guessing an x16xel?) u have to have are-map, not just bolt it on as such?
    yeah i have the x16xel

    no i want the re map as i want it to rev more and get the most out of it..........

    ive been told with out it it doesnt really kick in till 3/4k on the revs!!

    Martain - £1400 WTF did you have :LOL:
    im going to manchester to have the chip done once ive fitted the Power Box (going to be Jan now!!)
    Drives - Phase 2 Astra Mk3 Gsi = 139.56 BHP with 138.81 Torque

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ecu chip?
    By dfault in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-12-2009, 18:23
  2. mod chip
    By Leeful in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28-06-2009, 23:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •