Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Alpine Head Unit - is this required??

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    fitz's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Alpine Head Unit - is this required??

    I have been informed

    "the alpine units are more powerfull than most other head units, which is the reason why you need to run the live from the the H/U direct to the battery"

    is this required?? how is this achieved? is it hard to do??

    any help or advice will be appreciated?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Skuzzle's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    simple and i would do it if i was you's
    Skuzzle - Powered by Badgerbyte Web & IT Services

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Not all Alpine HU's, but yes if they advise then do it.

    It's because of the standard wiring may not be able to handle the higher current draw !

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    matt1206's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    773
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah, the newer Alpines have a better internal amp and draw a larger current from the battery, so it's advised to run straight from battery if they state to do so.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Legoman's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've not read anywhere that this is necessary, although i may have missed it in the manual. (thats for a 9833)

    It does show wiring direct to the battery in the diagram, but I would imagine most do. Thats noramlly how manuafacturers describe that you have a 'permanent' live then they show the other live coming from a switched source.

    I could be wrong but does this really mean you have to run direct from the battery.

    I have now and not sure I noticed any difference, and if you 'had' to I don't see that they would have the yellow wire fed from the ISO connector

Similar Threads

  1. Alpine head unit
    By dannysport18 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-06-2005, 00:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •