Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: AMP?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    DaveAstra16v's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    AMP?

    Hi Guys I have recenly bought my Astra SXi and the previous owner has had a AMP fitted to the car in the boot but has cut the cable is there anyway i can extend this cable to save re running the cable to the engine and headunit

    any advice would be great cheers

    also does anyone know of any good cheap amps which look mint

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    LED_man's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yep, maplins do power cable connectors for 99p.

    4awg or 8awg

    jbl make decent low cost amp's and the new grand tourin range look excellent.

    hope it helps

    Ryan

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    DaveAstra16v's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers m8 ill take a look thanks

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    stuboy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    362
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    personally... i would solder the wires together and wrap leccy tape around the joint, you will get 10x better connection than a connector.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    DaveAstra16v's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers for advice will keep in mind but i have to bear in mind i dont have a lot of slack to work with so it might have to be a connector
    cheers though m8

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    LED_man's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    personally... i would solder the wires together and wrap leccy tape around the joint, you will get 10x better connection than a connector.

    and how do you solder the centre? im sure you can solder the edges fine but one of the connector blocks that i mentioned from maplin's is the best way of joining two power cable, dont forget to insulate it tho or it might catch on the car's chasis etc.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Big_Up_Vauxhall's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    701
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Centre of what???
    What i do is cut a bit of insulation off and then wrap the wires tightly around each other, then solder that. The solder will hold the wires wrapped together, and then put some tape on.
    Connectors can easily come undone and you don't want a bared 12v wire hanging around your boot.
    My mk3,117K, and the engine is still going strong
    shame about the car shell tho,lol.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    LED_man's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    he means the amp's power cable, which in effect should be at least 8awg, and therefore to thick to soldier, i agree for the remote cable and other thin wires but in the case of power cable then its a no no.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    stuboy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    362
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    excuse me, 8AWG is no way near TOO thick to solder, u can solder 0AWG!!

    it would not be hard to solder, if u hold the iron on it long enough the solder flows all over.

    btw, i DO know what im talking about, im a technician in Marine Electronics and i solder all the time, i have soldered thicker joints than an 8awg cable.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    LED_man's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    242
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    excuse me, 8AWG is no way near TOO thick to solder, u can solder 0AWG!!

    it would not be hard to solder, if u hold the iron on it long enough the solder flows all over.

    without getting into a debate about soldering wire....please read the post.

    they guy has litttle room as the wires are tight, he doesnt have a ironing board that will fit inside the boot i presume.

    and what do you use to solder 8awg? a normal 18w soldering iron? i think not. it simply doesnt generate enough heat to melt enough solder to cover the wire sufficiently. by the time the cable has dissapated the heat, your solder has hardened and unless you have a high power soldering iron, you have no change on melting it again.

    I spend 5-7 hours a day soldering component's, i also do my fair share of install's and never have i soldered 8awg + Wire,


    btw, i DO know what im talking about, im a technician in Marine Electronics and i solder all the time, i have soldered thicker joints than an 8awg cable.

    it apears not, Ring ANY ICE specialist and ask...'whats the best way of joining two 8awg wires'

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •