Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: JVC KDSHX701 head unit question

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Tr1p0d's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    JVC KDSHX701 head unit question

    Hi guys. I've ordered the above head unit without checking upon something first, and I'm hoping I've not bo***cksed up.

    Is the head unit compatible with the LCD 'heads up display' in the MK4 Astra (the display with the temperature / date / radio station etc)? Does anyone know if I'll need an adaptor or if it's compatible straight out of the box, or even if it's compatible at all?

    Cheers guys!

    (EDIT): It's this one --> http://www.lowcostcaraudio.co.uk/sho...mp;product=510

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Do you mean will it display the radio station and cd track details? If then i'm afraid no

    The time, date and temp will all still work though
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Tr1p0d's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks
    Do you mean will it display the radio station and cd track details? If then i'm afraid no

    The time, date and temp will all still work though
    The one thing I was worried about is it not displaying anything at all. I've not had the Astra a week yet, so don't yet know what would affect what.

    But you've answered my question anyway. Muchas gracias!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    All that will happen is the date will go when you switch the radio on. This can be fixed by cutting a wire on the vauxhall loom.

    If you look through the ICE section yu will find this covered many times but from memory it's a red wire with a white trace

    Welcome to the site BTW
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Tr1p0d's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Proper champion lad! Much appreciated!

Similar Threads

  1. head unit question
    By Ally_mufc in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2012, 23:16
  2. Question about a head unit.
    By Ste-Astra in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2009, 18:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •