Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HELP Climate Control not workin rite! SORTED!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    TurboCoupe2002's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    HELP Climate Control not workin rite! SORTED!

    I have only just realised when I select the middle/front firing air vents the air continues to blow up to windscreen, in fact no matter which setting i pick it runs on windscreen. I never had this problem last winter but through the summer months i always have it set to auto so this is the first time i tried to heat my hands this year but it will not blow out the front facing vents.

    Any body had this before and if so how do I sort it?
    Astra VXR - 1st RIP - Black, 19"s, Climate, Cruise n Full Milltek
    The Black one
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheBlackOne/
    Blue RIP
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheAff/

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    TurboCoupe2002's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: HELP Climate Control not workin rite!

    I checked all cable were connected correctly from the control panel and all looks ok, the funny thing is if i pull the blue socket from the back right(lookin from front) it makes no difference.

    I have booked into VXH next Wed to have it sorted under warrantee, only thing is I have my own ICE install and they asked me for the standard stereo code as they would probably have to remove it to check and fix problem. My own install is a going to be in the way and the headunit cannot be removed without dissconntecting all the cables as they are very tight and neat. I really dont want to be removing this if it can be helped.

    Has no one had this sort of problem after install ICE?

    I am guessing and also hoping it is the control panel that has failed and not the motor that moves the flapps as i believe this is a major job.

    Anybody shed some light on this subject? please
    Astra VXR - 1st RIP - Black, 19"s, Climate, Cruise n Full Milltek
    The Black one
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheBlackOne/
    Blue RIP
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheAff/

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I thought climate control was all electricaly controled rather than cables???

    Anyway on the caviler the wires can become tight and lock up the mech but with the plastic cage that's in the "G" this shouldn't be a problem
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    TurboCoupe2002's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: HELP Climate Control not workin rite!

    It is all electronically controlled, but if the electric motor is stuffed I think it is a major strip of the dash area. Here's hoping it is the switch then it is an easy swap.

    Ah well, I will know by Wed night. :roll:
    Astra VXR - 1st RIP - Black, 19"s, Climate, Cruise n Full Milltek
    The Black one
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheBlackOne/
    Blue RIP
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheAff/

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    SJD825's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mine takes about 10 secs to change position. Also when it’s on auto it will blew out cold air out of the face vents and when blowing hot it will come out of the foot vents. When I first got mine it went back for the vents not switching I had a new front panel fitted.
    Live Your Dreams & Face your fears

    Drives Astra GSI Turbo (Take II)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    TurboCoupe2002's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: HELP Climate Control not workin rite!

    I know if I pull the second connector off it does nothing, the first connector supplies power, fan speed, temp, front screen de-mist, recylce and rear screen heater. I am assuming the second connector only controls the vent switching.

    I will just have to hope i have the same issue SJD825 had with a faulty front panel.
    Astra VXR - 1st RIP - Black, 19"s, Climate, Cruise n Full Milltek
    The Black one
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheBlackOne/
    Blue RIP
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheAff/

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Nick Whitney's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: HELP Climate Control not workin rite!

    Ca'nt say for the Astra G but most cars flaps are moved using a vacum feed. So I guess without the engine running you would loose this vacum. Or maybe pinched a pipe somewhere with your ICE install?
    Hope this is of some help.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    TurboCoupe2002's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: HELP Climate Control not workin rite!

    Car went in Wed morning to Vauxhall. Received a call 2hrs later to be told they had tried everything but still failed to find fault. They advised me they needed to take my dash to bits which would involve removin my headunit :x They also told me it was lookin like something i may have caused when fitting ICE.

    Anyway i gave them the go ahead on the condition that my headunit would be fitted back exactly as it was, so if they have to write every wire down so that they can put it back then so be it, they agreed.

    Any way 3.5hrs later another call to say car fixed come fetch it. Ten minutes later(I work 5 minutes away) i arrived. It turns out after spending hrs takin car to bits and puttin it back together they still found no fault, at that point they plugged in Tech 2 and it showed there was no programin for the Climate. They then re-install the Climate program and all tested OK.

    I think it all works better now than it ever did. i.e. on auto i don't end up with freezin feet and ankles while the rest of me is still toastin, it appears to distribute the air more evenly round the car but if the requirement comes to tell it what to do it all works fine.

    Computers....Who needs them? :roll:

    Now I am gettin scared as my warranty runs out end of Jan'05, that would have cost me around £300+
    Astra VXR - 1st RIP - Black, 19"s, Climate, Cruise n Full Milltek
    The Black one
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheBlackOne/
    Blue RIP
    http://www.mrmike.toucansurf.com/TheAff/

Similar Threads

  1. climate control??
    By Astra_Tom in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 16:23
  2. Cruise Control Settins, Workin?
    By bazb in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2008, 00:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •