Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wiring Snooper to HU

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    griffmaster's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Wiring Snooper to HU

    wondering if it is possible to wire a Snooper S3 Neo to come on with the CD player, my pal has it on his Ibiza, its just the CDR 500 HU, so not sure if i will be able to connect it up as the connections seem to be built into the CDR 500.
    The Griffmaster

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You would need to wire up the live from the snooper to the electric aerial output from the headunit.

    It has one there but i'm not sure it can handle the extra current, idealy you would need to put a relay in there to boost the current up
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can get a small relay from a supplier (not a car type, they drawn too much current in addition to the aerial amp) which you can use to switch other devices from the electric aerial wire on the standard head unit. I run my amp 'on' signal, the power to the DVD player and PS2 setup by using such a relay.

    Would it not be better for a Snooper to be ignition controlled though?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    rusty's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,511
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just wire it up to the ignition... makes more sense than wiring it up to the stereo...


    if your ignition isn't on, you aren't likey to be moving so why bother having a snooper on?

    mine is wired up to the ignition - oh, and you might want to bul din a little kill switch in easy reach... that way when the little ****er starts going mental at traffic lights and the liek you can just eassilly flick the switch off rather than reaching for the snooper
    My car - Rusty Custom Creations Inc....

    The only natural pilots are born with feathers.... except me.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You can get a small relay from a supplier (not a car type, they drawn too much current in addition to the aerial amp)
    A car relay draws no current at all along so can be added to the origional wiring no problem
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    griffmaster's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: Wiring Snooper to HU

    is it easy to wire to igniation? or could i hook it up to cigerette lighter socket?
    The Griffmaster

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Yes its easy mate and TBH the easiest place is behind the cigerette lighter socket
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    barkas's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    are they any good these snoopers, is it worth buying ? :shock:

Similar Threads

  1. Wiring a snooper
    By rich sri in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-06-2005, 17:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •