Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Box problem. Sub Box

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    JJ_'s Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    497
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Box problem. Sub Box

    Ok got two audiobahns which i want to put in a ported enclosure.

    The sizes are as follows
    Height 16"
    Width 40"
    Depth 1 7"
    Depth 2 12"

    This comes to 2.584 cubic feet.

    The audiobahn says it needs 2.5 for everyday bass, now is that for one sub or can i put two in. As the coupe is a bit of a bitch for space in the back. Attached a pic to let ya see what i mean.

    http://www.audiobahn.com/tech/Calcul...Calculator.jpg

    I will be using the box on the right, and to complicate things further the subs will be mounted on the angled bit and the what appears to be the "front" will be perspexed.

    So is there anything else i need to know?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Legoman's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I make those dimensions add up to 3.52cu/ft

    with the depth I do this..... 12 - 7 = 5
    5 / 2 = 2.5

    7 + 2.5 = 9.5" this gives you the average value of the sloping side, it does work used this calculation for years, so then you do: 16x40x9.5 = 6080

    6080 / 1728 = 3.52

    its always gonna be easier to go sealed as you can't shrink a ported box without adjusting the port size, generally it will go longer for the smaller box, but you would need a bass box program to calculate it

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    JJ_'s Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    497
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Only thing is the audiobahn is nto recommended to run sealed, i already have one and am very impressed so im buying another . It was off the audiobahn calculator that i found the sizes. :? Well im gonna let the pro's handle the boot, as i want it trimmed in alcantara and a few wee special's including a flip down tv in and some perspex, amoung other things. The pics will be about 8/9 months away though, still gotta buy the main parts

Similar Threads

  1. why does my remap cause a throttle problem and cruise control problem?
    By 22rabbits in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-08-2013, 14:50
  2. ECT problem or Idle Air Control valve problem?! =S
    By Jer7 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-12-2012, 13:50
  3. M1GST problem No. 145678,897,898.3 wierd door locking problem
    By MatG in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30-10-2008, 18:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •