Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: astra mk3 replaced head unit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    scoobz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    astra mk3 replaced head unit

    hi, i have just replaced the standard tape player with a new sony mp3 player. Only problem none of the memory/radio stations are there when i turn hi-fi on, i don't know which wire is the permanent live on the connection block.

    Also when i turn the hi-fi on the date on the dashboard display goes off. is there any way of overiding this. So it stays on when the stereo is on?

    thanks for any advice

    :?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    On VX's the constant and ig'n lives are the wrong way round (god nows why). to cure just reverse the red and yellow wires on the Iso connector - if you use bullet connectors it can be easily changed back if you need to.

    The display - on the vehicle loom side of the connector block, you will find a grey and a red/white wire comming out of the same terminal - cut the red/white stripe wire. I put a bullet connector in mine so as I can swap back easily when I sell the car.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Local_boy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    On they back of the sony headunits the red and yellow are normally already bulleted to make it even easier

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    scoobz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: astra mk3 replaced head unit

    thanx i'll give it a try.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    scoobz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: astra mk3 replaced head unit

    hmm, i've had a look and there is only 2 grey and green wires coming out of the same connection. or 2 blue and red ones coming out of the same connection. so not sure what to do!!!???

    anyone any ideas

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If you look at the pin that has the blue electric aerial output wire on, go to the other side on the vauxhall plug you should have 2 wires comming out the same pin.

    50/50 chance you cut the right one first
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    scoobz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: astra mk3 replaced head unit

    the blue wire for the electric arial is not connected (from the stereo) it don't go into the connecting block. if i cut the wrong wire out of the two what will happen?

    Cant understand how when i turn my radio on the calander goes off because the pin don't seem to be conected??


    Hmm there is always some problem!!!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Sony headunit has 2 blue's if I remember right, one that goes into the ISO connector and one that goes to expernal amp if needed.

    Cutting the wrong wire won't harm anything and just join it up again if it's wrong.
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. cylinder head replaced, but no fuel???
    By Dale7920 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-01-2013, 22:34
  2. head replaced and now masses of smoke?!
    By steve252 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 15:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •