Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: help, speedo stopped working

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    heds's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    680
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    help, speedo stopped working

    just had a c20xe put in my mk3 astra if **** me is it fast but the speedo has just stopped working and just lies at the bottom not moving at all, need it fixed asap. anyone got any ideas what to check first and where to check i aint had a good look about the engine so dont know where anything is.
    detailed explanations please

    cheers
    removed please read the rules - the place for all your vauxhall buying/selling needs

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Big_Up_Vauxhall's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    701
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The first thing to check is the connector in the back of the instrument panel, the speedo cable.
    If that seems fine then it may be the sender.
    My mk3,117K, and the engine is still going strong
    shame about the car shell tho,lol.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    heds's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    680
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    but the clocks never came out to do the conversion so it shouldnt be behind the instrument panel what about the other end where is the sender on my engine?
    removed please read the rules - the place for all your vauxhall buying/selling needs

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    There is a cable (not wiring cable) going from the clocks to gearbox. From memory it's just over the top going towards the back of the gearbox if you get what i'm saying.

    Can'y miss it anyway
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    CRaggY's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Did you change your gearbox with the engine?? If so I think your old gearbox had a speedo sensor located roughly where the gear selector joins to the top of your gearbox, more so to the back than the front. There should be a connection goin from this back into your wiring loom and into your dash. This sensor takes a reading from a pickup on your differential inside your gearbox. Compare your old box to the new and make sure you still have this sensor in the new........ Thats if you did change your box of course.
    CraggY

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    heds's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    680
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorted lads bheers, the speedo cable had snapped so i replaced it and put some new clocks in with a rev counter, woohoo!
    removed please read the rules - the place for all your vauxhall buying/selling needs

Similar Threads

  1. speedo stopped working!!
    By jonesy1 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-05-2010, 14:36
  2. Speedo just stopped working!!!
    By neileos in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21-10-2008, 15:01
  3. Speedo has stopped working...
    By Keefo in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24-05-2008, 19:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •