Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: cambelt on 2.2 coupe

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    EVO's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    932
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    cambelt on 2.2 coupe

    can anyone tell me if the 2.2 coupe has a cam belt or chain. the reason i ask is that my car is on 35,000 miles and i was wondering if i needed to cahnge it in the next couple of months
    GTC SRI 2.0 CDTI

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Max_The_mole's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,128
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The 2.2 has a chain.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    stevenlcroucher's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,388
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Very VERY early 2.2 engines had a belt, but I don't think any of those are in Astras; so a chain it is.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    IIRC the belt driven 2.2's were in the frontera etc.

    All Z22SE's found in the mk4 are chain driven, but I believe there was a problem with earlier ones due to dodgey oiling and the chains sometimes snapped.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    EVO's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    932
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    so does that mean they need to be changed or is it just a matter of keeping an eye on the oil and getting it change regulary
    GTC SRI 2.0 CDTI

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    MagPie's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As far as I know the chains don't need replacing. Have a look at the following this mentions something about a revision due to the chain problems mentioned above.

    http://www.m1gst.com/phpBB2/viewtopi...t=timing+chain

    Don't know if it applies to you or not.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    EVO's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    932
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    after looking at the link my engine code 11009061. does that mean i need to have mine checked or is it ok
    GTC SRI 2.0 CDTI

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    JasonM's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm told by an indepedent Vauxhall garage, it's as posted above, the chains don't self lubricate, and shatter.

    He also says it's only happening on early Z22SE's, later versions of the engine have the problem fixed.

    He goes on to say you can tell if you have the fixed engine as the engine slopes backwards, I have the sloping engine, a call the Vauxhall dealer giving car reg number confirmed my engine is a later one, and problem free.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    EVO's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    cardiff
    Posts
    932
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: cambelt on 2.2 coupe

    mine is on a 51 plate so would that be the early or latter one
    GTC SRI 2.0 CDTI

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Gra 2.2's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Have a look at your motor, if it slopes back towards the bulkhead it's a later spec'.

Similar Threads

  1. astra coupe cambelt?....
    By mottley in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-01-2006, 18:49
  2. Cambelt on coupe turbo
    By michael_172 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2004, 21:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •