Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is this the correct ISO lead

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    J1OHN's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    341
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Is this the correct ISO lead



    Will this fit my Astra 2003 to replace the CDR500 to an aftermarket sony?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Richie Rich's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,227
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im quite sure it is, thats what mine looks like.
    Richie Rich - The Resident P.I.M.P
    "Pimp-Izzle-Fizzle"
    Arden Blue MK4 GSi Turbo

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    J1OHN's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    341
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I reliase that the steering / display will not work, but what will the display show (blank / date) ??

    Thanks.

    PS when adding an after market stereodo you need a new fitting harness bracket thing or does the vauxhall one work fine...

    also do i require the arial plug adaptor?

    :roll:

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Richie Rich's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,227
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by J1OHN
    I reliase that the steering / display will not work, but what will the display show (blank / date) ??

    Thanks.

    PS when adding an after market stereodo you need a new fitting harness bracket thing or does the vauxhall one work fine...

    also do i require the arial plug adaptor?

    :roll:
    It does if u listen to the radio and/or cut one of the wires (cant remember which one, speak to Autosparks) You can get the steering wheel adaptor so that you steering wheel controls work with the headunit, mine does. You wont need an aerial adaptor and you need to use the bracket which came with the sony headunit. I dont think the Vxl will fit around said new headunit.
    Hope this helps.
    Richie Rich - The Resident P.I.M.P
    "Pimp-Izzle-Fizzle"
    Arden Blue MK4 GSi Turbo

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by J1OHN
    I reliase that the steering / display will not work, but what will the display show (blank / date) ??

    Thanks.

    PS when adding an after market stereodo you need a new fitting harness bracket thing or does the vauxhall one work fine...

    also do i require the arial plug adaptor?
    From memory, it will just show the time/date & blank when the head unit is switched on. There is a wire to be cut to stop it blanking out. I will check & post later which one to cut.
    You need to use the fitting cage supplied with the aftermarket head unit and on the wiring loom you will need to swap over the Red & Yellow wires or use a special ISO plug to socket adaptor assembly (cheaper to swap the wires).
    You will also require an aerial adaptor plug, usually available from your local ICE dealer or motor factors for a couple of quid
    Hope this all helps
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You shouldn't need any extra ISO leads to plug a brand new sony stereo into a vauxhall. All you need to do as SQ Man said is to swap the red and yellow wires round and they kindly put bullet connectors in the sony loom to make this easy for you.

    To keep the date display all the time cut the red/white wire. I cut this where it goes into the MFD so I was certain it wasn't powering anything else
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Cheers Autosparks, saved me looking that one up.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    RAZOR's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,792
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    when i put mine in and used the autoleads addaptor for the sony steering wheel control this swaps the red and yellow wires round any way
    Balck Astra K Elite 1.4 Turbo

Similar Threads

  1. O.B.D/USB lead
    By Paul G in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-04-2010, 15:38
  2. where can i run my sub lead ?????
    By bradshaw1759 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-03-2010, 21:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •