Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: screen wiring problem

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    MattSxi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    screen wiring problem

    Right, just got a 7" in dash screen through the post from that tg in car site and it hasn't come with any instructions so I'm wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction here. It's the same kinda thing they've got at mp3playerstore. Now, the power socket has got 4 leads coming out of it: Red, Black, yellow and green. I'm guessing red and black are pos and neg and yellow might be ignition, but I've got no idea what the green one is for! Any ideas?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Green could be remote out
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Why not just email/call them.
    Safer than guessing & blowing something up. :shock:
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Is the green not for the handbrake connection - I didn't bother with this, so you can watch it on the move - slightly illegal, but hey, what the hell

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    MattSxi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Seeing as some other people have bought these kind of units I thought I'd ask as response time is generally much quicker on here! Have emailed them tho

    Here's a pic:


  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by LordNikon
    Is the green not for the handbrake connection - I didn't bother with this, so you can watch it on the move - slightly illegal, but hey, what the hell
    This is very possible
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The pic above looks identical to mine. I would say its for the handbrake - leave it not connected !

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MattSxi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers Nikon. So technically it should power up with just red and black wired up then?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The red is a permanent live. The yellow is switched ignition wise, and then the black to earth. I picked all my feeds up from the Stereo loom behind the centre console !

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    MattSxi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah that's the plan. Will sort it out when I get some spare time tomorrow. Is yours mounted in the lower din slot? Took the tray out and found that there's not much room back there thanks to the heater ducts but I presume it'll go in somehow seeing as I've seen pics of headunits down there before.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need help wiring in screen
    By heathy91 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23-05-2012, 01:20
  2. Screen wiring help please..
    By AstraDti16v in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 09:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •