Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Tech 2 Updates

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Al's Avatar
    Turbo Jizz Golfer !
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,200
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Tech 2 Updates

    Not sure if anyone will know the answer to this question, but does anyone know how often does the tech 2 sofware get updated by VX? just curious, so I have a brief idea when I should book me motor in and have the ecu updated

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    JonathanW's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    664
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Don't be put off by the recent 'Tech2 can't overwrite current version' thread SQuidge. I may be being naive but I would have thought that AmD copied my map before altering it and if I wanted it back on it wouldn't be rocket science to upload it! Presumably it's the same for other tuners.

    If the Tech2 was the only machine that could alter a map it would be an issue but as a lappy with the right software can do it there is nowt to worry about!

    Start saving those pennies and stop spending on fancy screens...

    Jonathan

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    RAZOR's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,792
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    do they run tech 2 updates when your car is in for a service :?:
    Balck Astra K Elite 1.4 Turbo

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZOR
    do they run tech 2 updates when your car is in for a service :?:
    Not necessarily. I had a Tech 2 update on my car when they replaced the clutch under warranty, but only because they were being sneaky and were checking the ECU to see if it had been remapped.

    Apparently they can check the maximum boost reading from a Tech 2 and work out if the car is overboosting from standard (ie chipped). My car wasn't mapped, so while they had the Tech 2 out they gave me a latest spec upload, which was nicer.

    Some garages will check the revision on your ECU for you during a service, if asked (and not too busy). I believe you can have it updated as a standalone job for around £35

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Ian Griffiths's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    812
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What are the benefits of updated software though? If it ain't broke and all that?

Similar Threads

  1. Turbocharging - how it works and tech terms/useful turbo part no's & other tech info.
    By Scottyboy in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-07-2012, 11:49
  2. Tech 2 updates
    By Themascot1903 in forum Zafira Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-02-2010, 21:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •