Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Remote gain control for a sub amplifier

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Remote gain control for a sub amplifier

    After seeing some of the bass systems at Donny this year I've decided I want to be able to adjust the bass level right up for shows and back down easily for normal driving (my 15" sub is just too much bass if it is turned up on the amp fully, so I only on about 1/4 gain normally)

    Does anyone know where I can get an in-line controller to alter the signal level to the bass amp from the front of the car?

    I don't want to replace the head unit or amp, just want a cheap(ish) way to alter the bass level. I seem to remember an Audiocontrol unit a few years back, but I can't find anything on it now?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    sjj84's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,305
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what make is your amp? I know alpine do one, think it's only for their amps tho. Costs £20. Have seen others about aswell, all around the £20 mark.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    My amp is not a great brand and it doesn't have a remote gain control input, I've already checked that after advice from a mate

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    sjj84's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,305
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    oh alright, I'll try and find another one for you. I definately remember seeing one, still for £20, as far as I can remember you put rca's from headunit into it and then another rca from the box to the amp. I'll try and dig out the details for you.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Max_The_mole's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,128
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sjj84
    oh alright, I'll try and find another one for you. I definately remember seeing one, still for £20, as far as I can remember you put rca's from headunit into it and then another rca from the box to the amp. I'll try and dig out the details for you.
    Vibe make 1 like this but I can't find it on their web site.

    I've got it in a brochure at home so I'll have a look tonight

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

    Re: Remote gain control for a sub amplifier

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve
    Does anyone know where I can get an in-line controller to alter the signal level to the bass amp from the front of the car?
    What you need is an Autoleads PC1615 Remote Level Controller.
    http://www.autoleads.co.uk/general_remote.html
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Amrik's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    482
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Remote gain control for a sub amplifier

    Quote Originally Posted by SQ Man
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve
    Does anyone know where I can get an in-line controller to alter the signal level to the bass amp from the front of the car?
    What you need is an Autoleads PC1615 Remote Level Controller.
    http://www.autoleads.co.uk/general_remote.html

    I have got one of these autoleads ones. its sat just next to the handbrake, between the center console, and the seat, nice and tight, but discreet

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks mate, that looks perfect for the job. Now I just need to find an Autoleads dealer and get one on order

    Cheers for all the help guys!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    (One on order £35 mail-order, cheap at half the price )

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    rusty's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,511
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    £35? where'd you get one for 35 quid?
    My car - Rusty Custom Creations Inc....

    The only natural pilots are born with feathers.... except me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Start Up Lead For Amplifier
    By Freddie11 in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23-01-2011, 22:32
  2. Head unit crossover control vs amplifier?
    By nry in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-03-2009, 10:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •