Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Calling all Turbo bods in the know ;)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Calling all Turbo bods in the know ;)

    Found the Regals Phase III Turbo on their website for £740, details are below ...

    "This turbocharger replaces the standard turbocharger on your engine.

    SPECIFICATION

    High flow K04 - large trim compressor wheel, CNC re-profiled compressor housing, modified backplate assembly, left hand thread shaft and wheel, twin high temp seals, 360 degree thrust bearing, recommended boost level is 22-24 psi. 250-280 BHP is possible from this unit with correct fuelling and engine management modifications"

    Holding that sort of Psi, with an AMD remap, I reckon near on 300bhp is achieveable !

    Apart from Traction problems which I know about, what do people reckon to this ??

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Jass's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    199
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I still dont understand how they only get 280bhp with a change of turbo, while AMD here, get 186kwm 270bhp and 350nm of torque from the same unit, with mods however this figures go up :shock:

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Max_The_mole's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,128
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Possibly they are only advertising it as 280Bhp as that is all they expect from the generic eds map?

    As AMD is a custom map you'd expect better gains anyway. (That's my guess anyway!)

    OR possibly they are not taking other mods ionto account like the exhaust and air intake.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Only thing I would look at with the turbo is too whether or not it will still spins up as quickly as the standard Turbo, as I would like to go with a turbo that had any lag.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Manch's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,404
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ln the only way to know is too look at the turbo map itself and see what kind of Cubic Feet per Min of air it can flow . This will give you a rough max power the turbo can do .

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Craig's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17,804
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    wouldnt you need to upgrade the pistons ect like petes?
    Ibiza FR CR TDI with 203 BHP

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Max_The_mole's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,128
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A16VCY
    wouldnt you need to upgrade the pistons ect like petes?
    I don't think petes is running upgraded pistons.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Looked into this and the Turbo in question will spool as quickly as the standard one, but will hold a rather nice 22psi

    Internals stay the same

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    leeGSI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    re: Calling all Turbo bods in the know ;)

    Whos map are you gonna use though, wont you have to pay AMD 2K for the hybrid re-map or go back to the regal map?
    Supercharged 330 coupe
    Golf V6 4motion
    Astra VXR

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I was goning to get a AMD remap - but with the large amount of cost, plus the £1100 for the turbo, it's not worth it at the moment

    AMD are working on a hybrid of their own, that they will supply, so I'll wait for that one

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. calling all turbo uses
    By sprdan in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23-09-2011, 04:28
  2. Calling all tech bods!
    By Dave Lad in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-02-2006, 14:53

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •