Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: do i need 2 batterys?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    djglovehead's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    do i need 2 batterys?

    hi all,

    at the mo ive got a panasonic 4x50 head unit i think its 20-25rms
    a vibe cbr 15" that running of a bb2 amp, taking one of my 2 preouts.

    i was wondering when i get round to upgrading my door speakers, i will go for 6" or 6.5 door comps.

    To start with in the mk 4 what is the biggest speaker that can fit in a standard door (cant cut or pull anythink apart )

    and a bb1 vibe amp would be the sort of amp i would install 2x50w RMS
    for the fronts, can i run this of my battery (allready using it for a bb2 vibe amp) or do i need 2 batterys if so how do i do that, and when do you know u need a powercap.

    thanks

    oh and any ideas what door comps to get.

    Richard
    "give it some barry" -rev bob

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Simon Mk:3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,248
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you should be able to run it all on one battery but if you want to be a careful person then put one battery in the boot. The power cap is up to you.
    Simon Mk:3. One of the best mk:3's in the south

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    astra sxi 2003's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Drives
    1.6 SXI Astra mk4, 2.0 SRI Astra mk4 & Mokka 1.7 4x4
    Location
    Witham, Essex
    Posts
    2,185
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Follow astra sxi 2003 On Twitter Add astra sxi 2003 on Facebook
    how about just upgrading your current battery to the biggest vaux desiel battery they do, they will cope with the extra drain much better than the small petrol engined cars
    For all things Electronic, Electrical and Automotive
    Check out my web site www.daycall.co.uk
    x2 Astra mk4 1.6 16v & a Mokka 1.7

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    You're a long way off needing a second battery yet.
    Just uprate to a larger diesel battery to the front of the car and make sure your power cable is adequate (Minimum of 8 guage for 1 amp).

    As for speakers, you can fit 6" components to the front doors, 5¼" components in the rear.

    Power capacitors are normally only fitted if you are having power delivery problems with the sub bass, i.e. if your lights are dimming when the bass note hits.

    HTH
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

Similar Threads

  1. 1.6 16v sxi alternator 2 batterys ??
    By kik in forum Electrical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 12:10
  2. batterys
    By Astra_Dan in forum Electrical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-11-2006, 16:37
  3. batterys
    By Astra_Dan in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-11-2006, 15:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •