Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can I add traction control?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mark_dj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,728
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Can I add traction control?

    Can I add traction control to my Astra Sri? It's a 1.8 16 valve and I have noticed that a few of the Sri models do have this. I know of the spare plugs under the blank tray in the center console. Would I be able to put a plug onto this and it will start to work? My car is a 2000 X reg model. Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    AllanM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,884
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my car meant to have traction control but it dosent do anything.

    I can still spin the wheels if i take of in a hurry.

    to be honest do you need it ??
    im bored !

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    mark_dj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,728
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I probably do not need it but it would be good in bad weather conditions like the snow. I am not the type to spin the car much but incase I needed it for bad road conditions. Thanks

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    AllanM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,884
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i find tc a pig in snow, if your stuck you cant spin the wheels to get yourself out. never had a problem when driving in snow without tc. just be light on the throttle.


    anyway back to topic, i would imagine that you would need to get all sorts of sensor ets.

    could be expensive. i`ll have a look at the epc and see what bits you might need.
    im bored !

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mark_dj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,728
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for the info mate. If it's too much work do to add traction I won't be doing it . Can your traction be turned on and off? Thanks

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    AllanM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,884
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    mine cant but i know some folks have fitted a switch which would be useful.


    might be something im gonna do for the very reason stated above. snow etc
    im bored !

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you have ESP then the traction control is a godsend, as it brakes the spinning wheel to get traction, like a fiddle brake on a trialer.

    In real terms, I reckon the TC cuts in too early when you're trying to get off the line, so switchability is good

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-03-2012, 18:56
  2. regal Racelogic Traction Control & lauch control flat spot change
    By FEDZYN888 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 28-12-2009, 08:46
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-06-2007, 17:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •