Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: wot is the "control unit"????

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ron_1.8sport's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    wot is the "control unit"????

    the engine management light has been coming on so i took it to vauxhall and they have told me that the control unit needs replacing.
    can anyone tell woth the **** this is please cos its very expensive and i want to know if it needs to be done.
    http://www.hardscore.com/ron/astra1.jpg
    1.8 16v sport in red
    standard apart from pipercross induction kit
    lots of plans tho!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    RichC's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    858
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It sounds like the ECU (electronic control unit), very expensive when they go wrong.

    Your best off doing a search on here for leicester motor factors and seeing if they can get you one cheaper, Vauxhall will want £500+.
    Regards
    Rich C

    Former owner of Astra SXi.. New owner of a Satin Silver Civic Type R.. "Bye Bye GTi"!!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    JonS's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If it is the engine control unit, basically it would have all of your engine management info in. If your running an astra-g after 98 this is the part number you might need 90560476 for a progammable engine control unit, if you want to try to get it somewhere else. But check it before ordering off this part number though!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Gelf's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Once you know which ecu you have, you can always try and get one from a vauxhall breakers yard
    Courtenay Astra Coupe Turbo: 281 bhp & 273 lb ft torgue.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    RichC's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    858
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can get it from a breakers but make sure you have the engine immobiliser code.

    Without the code the ECU is nothing but scrap

    The code is normally supplied with the vehicle from new, generally kept in the bookpack (service, audio manuals etc) Its on a credit card size piece of paper.

    You can get the part from elsewere, but it will need to goto Vauxhall to be programmed on Tech-2.
    Regards
    Rich C

    Former owner of Astra SXi.. New owner of a Satin Silver Civic Type R.. "Bye Bye GTi"!!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Nrj's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    4,807
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what years the car? is it coverered by the 3year warranty.
    Cant Think of Anything Funny To Say

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    griffmaster's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i had Mk3 few years ago and eng man light came on went to Vaux and they said need whole new ECU £500+, but i took it to an engine specialist and they said that it was just a sensor in the ECU that needed repaired (throttle was sticking and over revving). so it Cost me £40 for a new throttle potentiometer sensor instead of a whole new unit that vauxhall claimed i needed. maybe its worth getting it checked out this way before u hand over big bucks for a new unit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •