Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Earthing AMps

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    flipcjl's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    597
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Earthing AMps

    Im trying to earth my amp but cant find a good earth point can anyone help me???

    Oh yeah its a Astra Mk 4 Sport!!

    Would prefer it so i aint got wires everywhere!!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Get the drill out! I drilled a hole in the boot floor for my amp and used a self tapping screw. This is the best way to get a clean earth, using existing bolts or fasteners tends to introduce more problems.

    The only other way to get a decent feed from the battery is to feed a cable all the way back to it and earth at the battery. I did this on my last two cars.

    Shouldn't this be in the ICE section ?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Oops, it is now!!!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Depends where you have put your amp !

    Mine's on the left habd side of the boot, and is earthed to a bolt near the rear lights (behind the removable panel)
    The cable is tucked under the carpet.


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    nicksri's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As Steve said drill a hole but clean paint from round hole and use a nut/bolt and washers. Screws can come loose and your earth needs to be a good/ solid one to keep interferance away and the better the power into the amp the better it will perform. p.s. All earths should be as SHORT as possible. CAUTION check where you are drilling, there are brake pipes, petrol pipes, abs wires and the petrol tank under the rear of your car. Also it will need to be accecible to put the nut and lock washer ect on. Once done paint the outside of the hole to prevent rusting.
    S treet R acing I diot.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    beastra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    My system is now setup and working a treat. I`ve earthed my amp direct back to the battery. All earths lead back to the battery anyway. However I have used uprated cable for all the connections for the install. I will be putting up a post soon, saying what I`ve used and how I`ve wired everything.

    I get no external noise, pops etc that shouldn`t be there, Just pure bass, perfect!!
    MK4 Golf 1.8T, Euro Style

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Steve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    5,062
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Earthing back to the battery is the only way to eliminate all the clicks and pops associated with in car Hi fi.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    beastra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I agree Steve, it`s the best way. Might cost slightly more doing it that way but I would never drill holes to be used as earthing points.
    MK4 Golf 1.8T, Euro Style

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Mark H's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its generally regarded as best not to run a lead for ground direct to the battery unless its in the boot.
    '51 Reg Astra 1.8 SXI 5DR for sale.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    flipcjl's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    597
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    brill

    Brill i earthed my amp with the bolt located in the left hand light (under the cover) got brill quality sound and the wires aint every where!!!

    Pics to come soon

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. earthing big amps!
    By pardoe16V in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28-03-2007, 18:14
  2. earthing 2 amps.
    By jaysxi85 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-04-2006, 18:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •