Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Oil Lack

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    streetglow's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Oil Lack

    the on board computer on my N reg astra 1.8 sport tells me the engines lacking oil...this can't be. If anything there is too much. Could it be a sensor? Any help would be great, how can I sort this?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Tilton's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sound like the sensor..... my old gsi flicked up that worning a couple of times..... scary stuff!!

    The sensor is on the front of the sump i think?? not sure though,

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mine used to do this - normally 'check engine oil' should come up first, but on numerous occasions it would go straight to the lack message.

    Try cleaning the terminals on the sensor - at the back of the sump.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    streetglow's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheers guys, at least now my passengers wont annoy me asking stupid questions about the oil message

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Wait till the brake pad sensors start freaking out

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    streetglow's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's funny you should say that...The comp says check brake pad too. When I bought the car I put on new rear pads as they were getting low, but they were still ok. the message is there from the moment I turn the engine on. The fronts pads are fine, and it stops really well Do these need sensors need cleaning too?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Only the front brakes have sensors on them and TBH they are crap. They work on a closed loop and as soon as they have the circuit broken once they are usless and can only be thrown away.
    I ended up cutting mine and joining the wires together to stop the light comming on as they aren't cheap from Vauxhall
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    streetglow's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Looking at the car, the wires on the drivers side are cut off, its too dark to see the other side at the mo. So you saay to just connect them together to rejoin the curcuit

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Yes

    Who needs a computer telling you when ur brakes are low anyway
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I cured my brake sensor problem by cleaning the terminals with wire wool, but the internal ones need a small dremel stlye engraving bit to push down the contacts and scrape away all the crud.

    when clean reassemvle and put some (lots) of grease around the connector facees to stop any further water ingress.

    Saved lotts money that way - sensors are about £30 each and if you dont clean the other side of the connector you'll still get false readings.

Similar Threads

  1. Oil Lack On Mk3 Mfd ????
    By Alpine090 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-01-2009, 22:35
  2. Oil...or lack of?
    By hougtimo in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-11-2008, 19:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •